Remembering Paul Keres - Chess Lecture - Volume 153 - DIGITAL DOWNLOAD

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Content: 2 hours and 23 Minutes in a series of 5 lectures.

Paul Keres
 January 7, 1916 – June 5, 1975 was an Estonian chess grandmaster and chess author. Keres was among the world’s top players from the mid-1930s to the mid-1960s during which he narrowly missed a chance at a world championship match on five occasions. Keres won the 1938 AVRO tournament, which led to negotiations for a title match against champion Alexander Alekhine. But, due to WWII the match never took place. After the war Keres was runner-up in the Candidates Tournament on four consecutive occasions. 


With numerous second placements many chess historians consider Keres the strongest player never to become world champion and one of the greatest players in chess history. His fans nicknamed him “Paul the Second”, “The Eternal Second” and “The Crown Prince of Chess”. Keres, along with Viktor Korchnoi and Alexander Beliavsky, defeated nine undisputed world champion which is more than anyone else in history.


In this DVD Dennis analyses and explains one of Keres stellar games from every decade during his career.


ECO: B29, C74, B98, E43, B06 PGN Files Included



Members of rated this series a 4 out of 5


Members of ChessLecture said: Great Video!


FM Dennis Monokroussos is a 3 time Nevada State Champion and won the Indiana State Championship in 2009. Dennis has taught philosophy at several universities including the University of Notre Dame. Dennis currently works as a chess coach for both children and adults both in person and over the internet. He can be contacted through his blog.